Thursday, November 18, 2010

Social Learning and Constructivisim

I go to class thinking I understand this stuff and then by the end of class I feel like I understand nothing.   Well, I'm sure I learned something.

I'm a couple of classes behind in reporting what we did in class.  During the second social learning class, Tiffany had us work in several small groups to discuss social learning instructional strategies, and then each group shared their discussions with the entire class.  Then she divided the class into three groups, and assigned each group one of the three learning theories.  Each group had about 15 minutes to create a mini knowledge base slide presentation, which was presented to and critiqued by the entire class.  I came away feeling more confused about social learning theory, and was concerned because I had a social learning theory knowledge base to turn it. 

This past Monday Tiffany discussed constructivism.  I thought I understood the readings, but then I couldn't fill out the damn advanced organizer table.  I hate those things.  I never seem to think about the subject matter the way the advanced organizer implies I should.  Any way... we worked in small groups, AGAIN, but this time we had to try to negotiate from the perspective of one the three learning theories.  There  was one other perspective, but I can't recall what it was.  Whatever it was, it had some overlap with social learning theory.  This class session seemed to engage in more discussion.  Or maybe it seemed like more discussion took place because more people chose to discuss things. 

It's interesting how after each class I feel confused.  But maybe that's not necessarily a bad thing.  Maybe this confusion signals that learning is happening inside my brain. 

No comments:

Post a Comment