Oh well, I can't find my notes from last class...
For some reason, I just don't get it, this theory, learning theory, instructional theory. It's the word "theory" that trips me up. Tiffany drew a graphic that helps, but we'll see if I can recall the difference next class. The Abbott and Costello routine "Who's on First" comes to mind... Here's a link to a clip of the routine:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sShMA85pv8M
Thank goodness Tiffany reviewed the KB assignment again. I thought I understood it, but apparently I didn't. Maybe because I'm stressed that I just can't seem to follow directions this semester. But back to the class.
After class I asked Tiffany ignoring a student when they give a wrong answer is a negative reinforcement or a negative punishment. We decided that it depends on the student. If the student dislikes getting ignored, then the student will reduce giving wrong answers -- then silence is a negative punishment. If the student increases giving correct answers, then the silence is a negative reinforcement.
While it seems that instructors tend to favor one theory to explain learning, it is possible to chose an alternative theory if the situation warrants it. For example, if you are a cognitivist, but the learner is an animal, then wouldn't you use behaviorist instructional theories to teach the animal?
Oh well, if I find my class notes, I'll add more about my impressions of last class.
No comments:
Post a Comment